Tags

, , ,

And, like living stones, let yourselves be built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood to offer spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ. 1 Peter 2:5.

During our week at the Celebrate Conference in Ilfracombe, one person had a picture of a stone in the water. As the waters passed each day, the rough edges of the stone were gradually smoothed. Then one day, the lower part of the stone which was under the water noticed that there were many stones making up the bed of the river, this stone was not alone!

The scriptural quote from St Peter, who himself was appointed by Jesus to be the rock on which He would build his church and establish His community here on earth, reminded me that we are all here to build up the Kingdom of God. Each stone has a part to play and without all the stones together, each in their unique place, the building remains incomplete. Each of us is called to build up the Body of Christ, to serve one another, to love one another.

Jesus Christ is the foundation stone upon which all others rely.

Lord, I pray that you show me the place in your Kingdom where I should be and show me how I can be of service to you. I ask this in the name of Jesus. Amen.

