Tags

, , , , ,

Our mission as Christians is simple: We are sent to proclaim the Good News. ‘This word ‘Proclaim’ appears some sixty times in the New Testament and the Greek word literally means to ‘announce good news’[i].

Blessed Pope John Paul II commented that ‘To evangelise is an obligation to love’ and Pope Paul VI before him said that ‘It is unthinkable that having received Christ we don’t in turn go and share Christ with others’.

Now I hear you ask, how on earth do I carry out this mission? The answer is through the power of the Holy Spirit. Peter tells us, ‘Repent and be baptised, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of sins; and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit’ (Acts 2:38).

So, confess your sins to God and pray this prayer:

‘Lord Jesus, you came to forgive my sin and to baptise me in the Holy Spirit. Please fill me now. Come Holy Spirit, I welcome You as my friend and comforter, fill me with Your gifts and power, Amen’.[ii]


[i] David Payne, Dare to Believe, p.105.

[ii] David Payne, Dare to Believe, p.98-99.

 

