Tags

, , ,

I often wonder how much faith I really have. Do I really believe that when I pray for someone to get well, they will be healed?

In Mark’s gospel, Jesus makes it very clear to us how we should pray:

Then Jesus said to the disciples, “Have faith in God.  I tell you the truth, you can say to this mountain, ‘May you be lifted up and thrown into the sea,’ and it will happen. But you must really believe it will happen and have no doubt in your heart.  I tell you, you can pray for anything, and if you believe that you’ve received it, it will be yours.But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too. (Mark 11:22-25)

So there are three essential elements to prayer:

  • Have faith in God
  • Really believe it will happen without any doubt
  • Start the prayer by forgiving

Not only will your prayers be answered but your own faith, your forgiveness of others will ensure that your own sins are forgiven.

