Tags

, , , , , ,

A friend commented recently that he hadn’t seen much on my blog recently. I suppose I’ve neglected it for the past few months because I have been distracted by technology. I purchased an iPad Mini which gives me instant access to emails, the news, social media even TV all without the need to go upstairs to my little office and switch the computer on! It made me realise that it is so easy to forget God and move Him away from the centre of our lives to the margins. Fortunately, He never forgets us and the comment from my friend was the nudge I needed to put things back in perspective.

Whilst we are not ‘of this world’ we are ‘in this world’ (Romans 12:12) we cannot fail to be affected by our surroundings, culture and the news. At the moment there is a great furore surrounding the former spy Edward Snowden who has released information to The Guardian newspaper in Britain and is apparently being supported by Wikileaks, whose founder Julian Assange is holed up in the Ecuadorian Embassy in London.

The tale of Edward Snowden which is still unfolding reminded me first of David and Goliath (1 Samuel 17) in that here we have one man at present outwitting the might of a superpower. Now whatever the rights or wrongs of his actions, it shows what can be done if one man is prepared to stand up for what he believes is right. (Ezekiel 22:30). Are we as Christians prepared to stand up and speak out for what we believe? Do we have the courage to take on the politicians and authorities when what they do is against the teaching of the Church? Do we stand against abortion, unnatural ‘marriage’, are we prepared to die for our faith?

Edward Snowden has given up his life for what he believes in, God grant us the courage to stand up for truth, to spread the Gospel, to help the poor, to love the unlovable.

